Loading Map....

Date(s) - 07/17/17
7:30 pm - 10:30 pm

New York Civil Liberties Union - NYCLU

Categories No Categories

Additional Information (if available)

URL for more information: .

Spend an unforgettable evening with fellow art and music lovers celebrating the power and beauty of expression. This year Broadway Stands Up for Freedom welcomes Kurt Crowley of “Hamilton: An American Musical” as the music director for the show. The concert will also feature Gavin Creel, 2017 Tony award winning actor and Chris Jackson, 2015 Tony-award nominated actor from Hamilton: An American Musical. Brilliant Broadway songwriter teams creating original music, written and composed exclusively for this concert, will be performed by a lineup of Broadway’s brightest stars and up-and-coming talent. Each song highlights a different civil liberties issue and the work of the ACLU and NYCLU using humor, irony and the freedom of expression!

Ticket sales and sponsorships support the ACLU & NYCLU’s mission to protect the rights of all New Yorkers.

Purchase VIP tickets and sponsorship packages
Purchase tickets for ONLY the concert (does not include the VIP reception)

The evening will also showcase the teenage winners of the NYCLU’s Freedom of Expression contest, which invites New York City public schools students to speak their minds on important civil liberties issues in their lives.


Susan Blackwell*, Talk show host of Side by Side on Broadway.com

Andrea Burns, Drama Desk Award Winner

Gavin Creel*, Tony Award Winner (2017), Drama Desk Award Winner

Ryan Fielding Garrett, Music Director, Kinky Boots (2014-2016)

Michael Friedman*, 3-Time Drama Desk Nominee, Obie Award Winner

Christopher Jackson*, Drama Desk/Emmy/Grammy Award Winner, Tony Award Nominee

Celia Keenan-Bolger, 3-Time Tony Award Nominee, 2-Time Drama Desk Winner

Liana Stampur, Broadway Stands Up For Freedom Co-Founder

Shaina Taub*, Jonathan Larsen Award Winner, Lucille Lortel nominee, MacDowell Colony Resident

Taylor Trensch, Broadway 2017 – Hello, Dolly!

Adrienne Warren, Tony Award Nominee

*Also a songwriter


Ryan Fielding Garrett, Music Director-Kinky Boots (2014-2016)

Joe Kinosian & Kellen Blair, Joseph Jefferson Award Winners, Drama Desk Award nominees, the ASCAP Foundation’s Mary Rodgers/Lorenz Hart Award Winners

Michael Kooman & Chris Dimond b/k/a Kooman & Dimond, of Dani Girl, Homemade Fusion, The Noteworthy Life of Howard Barnes; 2011 debut album, Out of Our Heads

Michael R. Jackson, Dramatist Guild Fellow

Brian Lowdermilk, Richard Rodgers Staged Reading Award Winner, Dramatist Guild Fellow, Alan Menken Award Winner, and Kait Kerrigan, Edward Kleban Award Winner

Clinton Curtis, Founder and Front man, The Clinton Curtis Band

Mark “Stew” Stewart, Tony Award Winner, Drama Desk Award Winner

Georgia Stitt, Harold Arlen Award Winner, ANMT Search for New Voices in American Musical Theatre Winner, ASCAP Frederick Loewe Fellowship Winner, the Harold Arlen Award Winner, the Sue Brewer Award Winner

Nathan Tysen, Tony Award nominee